[Example] Creating a small scene in Valkyrie

sample

Hey guys. I just wanted to share something I have been making in the Valkyre engine. I am an environment artist, so I am building up a small scene to see how it will look like in the engine.

I will share the step by step process as I make it, so maybe it can help someone. This is pretty basic stuff, so I will try to keep it simple and clear, regarding what I did.

Importing my assets:
I created the scene from several elements in Maya, and exported the FBX files, and then I created the textures in Substance Painter and exported all the necessary maps.
I used the Diffuse, Specular, Glossiness, Normal and AO map. Remember, if you use transparency, it is stored in your Diffuse - alpha channel, and your for your PBR assets, Glossiness map must be in the Specular’s alpha channel. I used the TGA files for this and created the maps in photoshop. You can also set up the export preset in you Substance for this. I will create it later and post it in the future, it might come handy.

To import the assets in the engine, I simply copied them to the work folder of the new app I created for this: C:/User/USER_NAME/Documents/VlkApps/APP_NAME. For the sake of ordering things, I created the “Textures” and “Models” folders inside it and pasted the models and textures to their respective folders. (1)

Setting the models in scene:
Ok, so the first step was do drag and drop the models into the scene.
As the models are placed where I dropped them, I needed to set the positions for each of them, in order for them to assemble nicely. (2)

Ctrl+F will then zoom in on your scene. (3)

Materials
Pressing ctrl+m shows the material editor, and here I assigned some coherent colours for to easily differentiate between the materials by simply pressing the coloured square next to Diffuse and selecting the colour. (4)